

BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 – 7:00pm Northwestern University- Segal Visitor Center

Members Present:

Anna Atkinson Christine Jacobek **Anthony Perry Robert Best** Sami El Saden Connie Magnuson **Ginny Burnstine** Ron Manderschied Alice Schaff Melissa Corley Kurt Mueller **Holly Sunshine** John Conneely Amy O'Donnell Diane Welnhofer Tracy Heilman Marc Peters William Welnhofer

Others:

Anthony Perry Sumitrajit Dhar Leticia Alcantara Silvia Diaz Allen Ramsier Tom Arvetis Ryan Dwyer Julie Rocap Lisa bandolik Kathy Elliott Katie Rocap Zoe Barron Talita Erickson Yasmin Rodriguez Chris Beer Monica Falcon Alice Schaff Christina Blas Tony Feliciano Sally Sprowl Tori Bohannon Sarah Frasco Paula Stang Megan Borowski Patricia Johnson Hollis Sunshine Megan Bott Laura Kollar Roland Szwarek Kathy Carbonell Carolyn Krulee Heather Szymusiak Martha Castillo Dan Lewis Katie Taylor **Dominique Chestand** Erminia Mack Mark Toledo Melissa Corley Jamie Macpherson **Emily Tzur** Stephen Cummings Allison Marino Edison Urena Anne Mueller Scott Wagner Sarah Walker

The Annual Meeting of the Members of Northwestern University Settlement Association was held at 7:00 p.m., April 24, 2019 in the Segal Visitor Center at Northwestern University, Evanston Illinois, pursuant to notice duly given.

Adriana Weisleder

Call to Order

Mr. Perry called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m., and welcomed Board members and guests to the meeting. He expressed gratitude to friends, staff, sponsors and all Board and Auxiliary board members for their generosity, support and continued participation and involvement in the Settlement.



Minutes of 2019 Annual Meeting

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Voting Members waived reading of the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members held April 25, 2018 and approved such minutes.

Chairman's Report and Awards

Tony Perry delivered his report as Chairman, and presented the 2019 Chairman's Awards as follow: Constance Magnuson received the Board of Directors Award, Patty Gahlon from the Winnetka Board received the Auxiliary Board Award, and Laura Kollar, Audience Service Manager from the Settlement's Adventure Stage Chicago, received the Staff Award.

Years of Service Awards

Ron Manderschied acknowledged staff members as the recipients of the Years of Service awards for the year 2019. Tori Bohannon was acknowledged for 10 Years of Service, and Monica Falcon- 20 years of service. He congratulated staff members and thanked them for their dedication and commitment to the Settlement over the years.

President's Report and Awards

Ron awarded the Emma & Henry Wade Rogers Legacy Awards to Talita Erickson, General Counsel for Barilla Group, for Innovation and Impact, and Paula Stang, Allstate's Associate Manager- Corporate Social Responsibility for their Corporate Partnership for the year 2019. Ron expressed that the awards embody and recognize the vision and commitment of the University Settlement movement though the sharing of time and expertise to benefit children and families in Chicago.

Keynote Speakers

From Rowe Elementary's class of 2017 and Adventure Stage Chicago's Trailblazer program, Jocey Vertiz spoke about how Rowe Elementary School and the ASC Trailblazer programs have positively impacted her life and her high school trajectory.

Nominations Report and Election

Connie Magnuson delivered the report of the Nominations Committee nominating Members to serve as Directors and Officers.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Voting Members unanimously elected the following persons to Membership on the Settlement's Board of Directors:

Anna Atkinson, 3-year term Robert Best, 3-year term Amy O'Donnell, 3-year term John Relias 3-year term Patty Gahlon, 3-year term Constance Magnuson, 3-year term Ron Manderschied, 3-year term



Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Voting Members unanimously elected the following Officers of the Association to serve until the next Annual Meeting of the Members:

Chairman Anthony Perry
Vice Chairman Robert Best

President Ron Manderschied

Treasurer Kurt Mueller

Assistant Treasurer- Finance William Welnhofer
Secretary Connie Magnuson
Assistant Secretary Anna Atkinson
Assistant Secretary Amy O'Donnell

Welcome New Board Members

Mr. Perry welcome new Board members, Patty Gahlon.

Omnibus Resolution

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Voting Members adopted the following resolution:

RESOLVED, that all of the acts and transactions of the Board of Directors of the Northwestern University Settlement Association, since the Annual Meeting of Members, held April 25, 2018 be, and hereby are, in all respects, confirmed, approved and ratified.

Closing Remarks

In closing, Ron thanked everyone for being ambassadors, supporters and having a deep commitment of the Settlement's mission. Ron expressed that multi-generations of board members, external partners, and community members, have all had an important role in delivering the Settlement's mission to disrupt generational poverty. He hoped everyone enjoyed a special evening focused on celebrating extraordinary staff members, board and external partners and supporters who are not only committed to the organization, but also focused on creating impact.

Adjournment

Mr. Perry adjourned the meeting at 9:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jessica Flores, Assistant Secretary